Moonlight Top 5 List

I don’t know if anyone has heard but Moonlight won the Oscar for best picture. In a very Steve Harvey-esque mix up it was mistakenly given to La La land. I’m not a huge movie buff and to be honest I haven’t seen either movie.

I was inspired by the best picture confusion to make a top 5 list. In honor of the award I havw created a top 5 “Moonlight” songs list. These are songs that have to have at least “Moon” in the lyrics. Let me know what you think!

5) Under the Cherry Moon – Prince

You knew I was going to include a Prince song in this! This is a strange tune. Not easy to describe. Not sure if watching the movie would help. (I’ve never seen it).

4)Man On The Moon – Kid Cudi

This track really seems to speak to those among us who are “Loners”. The Nosaj Thing background matches Cudi’s flow and style perfectly. Love this song.

3)Luna Negra – Rey Ruiz

I absolutely had to put some salsa in this list. This song is about a man going through heart break. He’s going through sadness and thoughts, thinking about what happened, his whole world is black, the Moon has gone black  (Luna Negra), the stars have gone black, and his life has gone black.

2) Dancing in The Moonlight – Thin Lizzy

This is one of my favorite songs of all time. The bass line , the finger snaps, but most of all that saxophone. This song is about an adolecent who fell in love. He is so happy he’s Dancing in the moonlight. Great song totally worth a listen. Thin Lizzy in general is dope.

1)Bad Moon Rising – Credence Clearwater revival

“I see a bad moon rising” it’s in the first line. This is a classic southern rock song and it sounds like one. The guitar sounds, The precussion, and the vocals all come together in to form an upbeat catchy tune. Although the lyrics are warning us about something, you would’nt know know it but just listening to the tune.

Did I miss any? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

